Men Don’t Cry… And Other Things

Leopard Lady
4 min readFeb 23, 2022
Photo by Tom Pumford on Unsplash

I have been with my partner for almost two years now, and I haven’t seen him cry once. During this time, I am sure he has seen me crying at least a hundred times. We met during one of the hardest years of my life, which explains all the crying.

I consider myself a sensitive person, but the pandemic changed something about me. Before, I was much more empathetic to other’s people suffering; now, not so much, I still feel like crying when I watch a sad story on the news, but I don’t let other people suffering affect my state as I used to.

Another thing is that because I suffered so much, I am done with bullshit; if someone is suffering for something that I don’t consider painful enough, I just can’t be bothered, which is not very nice of me as people have different resistance to pain (and life events). But that’s how I feel. And I am being honest.

An example is a friend that was missing her family after spending Christmas with them and having another flight booked to see them in a couple of weeks, while I haven’t seen my parents in two years. I am sorry, but I don’t care if you miss them, you just saw them, and you will see them again…

--

--