Most Of Us Have No Idea Of What Is Happening In The World Right Now

Leopard Lady
3 min readMar 14, 2022
Photo by Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

I have always considered myself an intelligent woman, but lately, I have been losing my grip. The brain is a muscle, and the less you use it, the smaller it gets. I know that. I haven’t been writing here because I don’t feel I have anything to say. I am watching the world as it’s happening in a parallel universe from my life.

When my partner told me about the War in Ukraine that first morning of the invasion, I grabbed my bag and went to the gym. As I could be bothered with the news. Then, when I actually stopped to watch the news, I got scared, and I cried. I know I am not a bad person, but I am also not great as well. Many people are donating their money, their time, their energy to help people; I am not. I am living my life.

As a teenager in Brazil learning about geopolitics, the concept of a war happening next to me was very unlikely. We did have some “narco wars” in Brazil, the police against the drug dealers killing hundreds of innocents, but nothing like a European war scale or other wars financed by the USA and Russia in African and Asian countries (and even in other countries in Latin America). Brazil is a pretty chilled country with no enemies. So being an adult living in Europe and knowing that here I might face a war is a pretty scary thought.

--

--