The First Thing You Need To Do To Feel Less Anxious About Money

Is it possible to not worry about money? Probably not. But it’s possible to worry less about it.

Leopard Lady
3 min readSep 5, 2021
Photo by lucas Favre on Unsplash

I feel you. I have been there unemployed and on benefits. I know the struggle, and I never want to be there again. Never.

Since November/2020, I have been working full-time as a content writer, writing personal finance guides. Not only my job but my personal experiences are helping me to better my finances.

Now I know what I need to do to be less anxious about money. This is the first step: building an Emergency Fund.

My goal is to have one year of my expenses and spending, which it’s lower than my salary. I am aiming for at least £1,250 per month. This comes to a total of £15,000. And this is money I won’t touch unless I am unemployed. That’s the deal. I can then give myself a year to put my life back together without worrying about how I will pay for my bills.

Since I have been rebuilding my finances, I have been feeling less anxious about money. I still can’t afford the lifestyle I want to live, but I know that having an Emergency Fund is more important because this is the first step to a sustainable…

--

--