The Importance of Validating Your Feelings

And what really means validating your feelings

Leopard Lady
4 min readJun 29, 2023
Photo by Paul Hanaoka on Unsplash

Ok, I finally have something to say. Something that I think it’s important and that is shaping my life for the better.

I am not the type of person that talks to my friends about my problems; I save them for my therapist (and my partner). But although my therapist has been doing a good job with me since 2020 (the same for my partner), other people’s perspectives can be really insightful.

I am also not the type of person that likes texting. I actually hate it. As my father once said: “Whatsapp is for quick messages, not full conversations”. And I have always used Whatsapp to say Hi, how are you? Then my message and I have always needed to say goodbye to end the conversation. But not anymore.

Very recently, I started sending audio to my oldest friend (we have known each other for almost 30 years) talking about my problems, and I don’t say goodbye, so our thread is constantly open. I reply when I can, and she replies when she can, with no pressure. I still feel slightly guilty when I do, and I always make sure that she knows she can count on me as well.

Anyways, my problem is with my parents. They made a decision I didn’t agree with and didn’t like, and I felt that I was wrong to feel this way…

--

--